If you have decided to go gluten-free for health reasons or just want to try it out, we’ve got you covered. At Riceworks, we are committed to bringing gluten-free products that you can feel good about eating and sharing with your family. In an earlier blog post, we discussed gluten and celiac disease. This blog post will discuss the surprising places where gluten hides (hint: be sure to check your lip balm) and how to get through a trip to the grocery store—it’s not as difficult as you might think.

Where does gluten hide?

We know that usually, wherever there’s wheat or flour, there’s gluten. With that being said, there are places where gluten hides that you should familiarize yourself with before going gluten-free. Soy sauce, for example, contains gluten, but rice (brown or white) does not. There is some confusion whether or not oats contain gluten—mostly the argument lies in how they are processed. Most national brands –including Riceworks—understand that many consumers are looking for gluten-free options and will label their products accordingly—usually on the front of the package.

Surprisingly, gluten can be found in some lipsticks, lip glosses and lip balms. They may contain trace amounts, but these products are sometimes unintentionally ingested. Also, be sure to check your vitamins, nutritional supplements and medications. The Celiac Disease Foundation recommends that if you don’t know whether or not something contains gluten, don’t eat it. Adopting a strict gluten-free diet is the only known treatment for those with gluten-related disorders.

Some products are made in facilities that also produce gluten-containing products, which can lead to cross-contamination. You can rest assured that here at Riceworks, we understand the importance of making sure our products are not cross-contaminated with gluten-containing products. In our factory, the small number of ingredients with gluten are well-marked and are stored in rooms completely separate from the Riceworks manufacturing lines.

Gluten-Free Grocery Shopping

Now we know what gluten is, what foods contain gluten and where it hides. Ready to hit the grocery store? Don’t be overwhelmed. The important thing to focus on is what you can eat instead of what you can’t.

You will have much more success when it comes to planning meals if you know what you can eat—meat, fresh fruits and vegetables and most cheeses and dairy. And with all the gluten-free options available, you should be able to substitute just about anything. Love your grilled cheese? No problem. Many gluten-free bread varieties exist. Pasta lover? You’re in luck—the gluten-free aisle offers many corn and rice pasta options in your favorite brands. Plus, you can always make your own gluten-free varieties of bread, pasta, pizza crusts, biscuits etc.