Our Riceworks products are different from most other snacks on the market, so we field a lot of questions about them – especially concerning gluten and other allergens. Look through our list of frequently asked questions to see if your questions are answered. If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact us.
Our snacks are available at retailers throughout the United States. To find one that is convenient for you, use our store locator. If you don’t see Riceworks stocked in your favorite local spot, be sure to check with the store manager and request your favorite flavors!
We can assure you that Riceworks crisps are gluten free! Our suppliers are aware of the critical need to avoid cross-contamination with gluten. In the factory, the small number of ingredients with gluten are well-marked and are stored in rooms completely separate from the Riceworks manufacturing lines. Any items containing gluten in our facility are run on separate lines and ingredients are stored separately.
We know that a lot of our customers deal with food allergies and we take them quite seriously. For example, when we run a product that contains dairy, our production line equipment is completely cleaned with soap and water and then thoroughly rinsed with clean water before moving back to non-allergen products to avoid any cross-contamination. That said, while chances are slim, there is never a 100% guarantee of some level of cross contamination happening with any processed food.
We mix whole-grain rices, sesame seeds and other premium ingredients into dough, then roll it into a thin sheet. We cut the mixture into triangles and then bake them. After baked, we fry them in canola, sunflower, corn or safflower oil – which allows us to produce snacks that are low in saturated fat and contain 0 grams trans fat per serving. The result is a snack with a crisp, sturdy texture perfect for dipping, topping or just eating!
Rest assured, there are 0 grams trans fats per 1 oz. serving in any Riceworks products.
No, Riceworks does not use high-fructose corn syrup.
We manufacture a variety of Riceworks products, some of which may contain dairy ingredients. We have serveral milk-free options, though, and any ricework product that does contain a dairy ingredient will have an allergen statement indicating “Contains Milk.” All of the top 8 allergens will be labeled as such on our bags.
Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) is not added directly to any of our Riceworks flavors. However, some of our flavors use ingredients such as yeast extracts which are natural sources of free glutamate. This means Riceworks may contain traces of naturally-occurring MSG.
Caramel color is made by cooking sugars at high temperature to make various shades of brown.
The store managers decide what flavors to stock. Please let your store manager know what flavors you would like to see on the shelves. If there is a demand for a product, it will be supplied!
Yes, you can be confident that Riceworks are kosher certified.
Maltodextrin is part of the seasoning; the raw material is from corn.